Values are updated weekly.
The Standard Presumptive Value presented here should be used for estimation purposes only.
Actual sales tax due is calculated at the county tax office when the title transaction is submitted.
Values for some late-model vehicles may not be available.
If you paid less than the standard presumptive value for your vehicle, you may pay sales taxes on an appraisal amount provided it is certified by a licensed insurance adjuster or a licensed motor vehicle dealer and obtained within 20 working days of the date of purchase. Vehicles Not Subject to Taxation based on Standard Presumptive Value
New vehicles (not previously titled)
Vehicles purchased from licensed dealers (dealers use purchase price only)
Vehicles purchased at a governmental or foreclosure auction
Vehicles 25 years old or older
Off-road vehicles, such as dirt bikes or all-terrain vehicles (ATVs)
Salvage or abandoned vehicles (except rebuilt salvage vehicles)
Vehicles sold through a mechanic or storage lien
Vehicles given as gifts to eligible applicants
Even-trade vehicles, when vehicles of equal value are swapped by the owners
This is the determination of the "replacement cost" of a vehicle for insurance coverage. This is only for vehicles that are antiques, classics, customized, special interest, etc. This is different from an ACV since the vehicle may have no true market analysis due to its age, customization or rareness. Therefore, each vehicle is evaluated on its own basis in many areas. These may include, but are not limited to, the following: uniqueness, originality, rareness, restoration quality, receipts, etc. Therefore, the vehicle is appraised in an effort to protect the owner's investment in a vehicle. Also, this benefits the owner and the insurance company to have the value properly stated so that the premiums are set accordingly.
Bonded Title Appraisal
To replace a lost title for your current vehicle.
Market Range Appraisal
To assist you in selling your vehicle.
Asset Evaluations Appraisal
To determine a value of a vehicle for divorces, donations, wills, etc
Actual Cash Value
"Actual Cash Value" - Determination of the value of a vehicle prior to particular situation. (ex. total loss, damage, theft, etc.)
We are licensed insurance adjusters and are eligible to appraise all vehicles for their PRESUMPTIVE VALUE for the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles.
All Texans who buy a used vehicle from anyone other than a licensed vehicle dealer are required to pay motor vehicle sales tax (6.25 percent) on either its purchase price or its standard presumptive value (SPV), whichever is the highest value. A vehicle's standard presumptive value is the calculated price of a vehicle's worth based on similar sales in the Texas region. As appropriate, your county tax office calculates the sales tax you owe based on this valuation.
Vehicles purchased from licensed dealers are not subject to the standard presumptive value tax, only vehicles purchased from a private party. The value applies whether you buy the vehicle in Texas or another state.
The Texas Legislature passed the law to ensure all Texans pay their fair share of vehicle sales taxes. You can preview the full Standard Presumptive Value (100%) of a used vehicle by entering the vehicle identification number (VIN) and odometer reading (not needed for motorcycles) by clicking on the button below:
Automobile Appraisal Co., Inc.
Diminished Value (Loss of Value)
There are many steps in the process to determine if there is any diminished value, and if so, why and how much. Since there is no standard set of rules and/or guidelines for determining diminished value, this company designed a methodical process in an effort to eliminate arbitrary, capricious, or inconsistent determinations in its documents. It is apparent that the number of diminished value claims will keep increasing, documents will constantly be evaluated for credibility, and more lawsuits will be filed unless there is a precedent set that differs from the current trend.
Diminished Value - Frequently Asked Questions
What is D.V.?
D.V. or diminished value is the anticipated loss of value after a vehicle has sustained damage.
What determines D.V.?
There are several factors that determine if a vehicle has diminished value. These factors may include, but are not limited to, the following:
Date of loss
Date of loss mileage
Has the function of the vehicle been restored?
Are repairs complete and within industry standard?
Has the market (retail) value been effected? (Actual cash value - prior and after)
Amount of damage/repairs.
Does every vehicle have diminished value?
No! Not every vehicle has diminished value. Each vehicle's characteristics and statistical data concerning the loss will assist in determining any anticipated loss of value.
Who can hire Stated Value's services?
We assist individuals, government agencies (IRS, DOT), banks, attorneys, major and independent insurance companies, etc.
How does Stated Value determine diminished value?
Since there is no standard set of rules and/or guidelines for determining diminished value. This company designed a methodical process using a vehicle's characteristics and statistical data in an effort to eliminate arbitrary, capricious, or inconsistent determinations in its documents.
How much does a diminished value appraisal cost?
Fees are determined by the location of the vehicle and/or the due diligence needed to complete the document.
What is the turnaround time of a document?
7-10 Business Days
How long is your document?
15 - 20 pages (or more).
Note: According to the Texas Department of Insurance, appraisal fees are recoverable if the insurance claim’s representative requests a written report for the diminished value, an appraisal fee was paid for the report and the claimant is not the negligent party. See the Texas Department of Insurance Commissioner's Bulletin below.
Copyright © Stated Value Automobile Appraisal Company, Inc.